Scam Alert: Fake Notice of a Disciplinary Complaint

I’ve become aware of a phishing scam that targets attorneys.

The scam is in the form of an e-mail from the “Ethics Board.”  The e-mail header indicates:

From:  Ethics Board <ethicsboard (at) vermont.gov>

Subject: Notification of Ethics Complaint No. xxxxx

Reply-to:  Ethics Board <ethicsboard (at) vermont.gov>

THIS IS A SCAM.  DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINKS IN THE BODY OF THE E-MAIL!!

Here’s a picture of the e-mail.  It was forwarded to my office by an attorney whose name I have redacted.

Scam

THIS IS A SCAM.  DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINKS IN THE BODY OF THE E-MAIL!!

I hovered over the links and it is clear that the links are to malware.

Bar Counsel notifies lawyers whenever a disciplinary complaint is filed.  I will NEVER do so by asking you to click on a link.

Please forward notice of this scam to other lawyers.  If you are targeted, please let me know.

One thought on “Scam Alert: Fake Notice of a Disciplinary Complaint

Comments are closed.