Do Nothing – It Might Help

The New York Times recently ran an op-ed by David Leonhardt: You’re Too Busy. You Need A Shultz Hour.

I agree.

In my posts on lawyers helping lawyers, as well as in a column I wrote for the VBA Journal, I alluded to the idea that lawyers can’t best help clients if they’re in need of help themselves.  In other words, access to legal services necessarily includes access to healthy & productive lawyers.

A Shutlz hour might provide all the help you need.  Over at InsideHook, here’s how Rueben Brody put it in his blog post Why Doing Nothing Will Be Your Most Productive Hour Of The Week:

  • “Stepping away as much as possible will make you happier and more productive. I recently gave up Facebook, and it’s given me at least an hour a day back. I’m not necessarily advocating you do that, but I do suggest you adopt the ‘Schultz Hour.'” {sic}.

And there’s the hook to legal ethics: happier, healthier, more productive. It strikes me that happier, healthier and more productive lawyers are better suited to provide competent and diligent representation to clients.

Sometimes the best thing to do is nothing.

Thank you to Ray Massucco for tipping me off to the New York Times piece.  Ray’s a loyal reader and frequent member of the #fiveforfriday Honor Roll.

Shultz

No, that’s not Ray.  That’s George Shultz.

Leave a Reply

