Don’t Click

Last week, I warned about the latest scam.

Yesterday, I saw this story on the ABA Journal’s website.

For those of you taking the title of this post literally, it’s a story of a prosecutor’s office in Pennsylvania that had to pay $1400 in bitcoin to hackers who had taken control of the office’s computer network.  The hackers gained control when an office employee clicked on a link in an email.  The link installed malware that infected and encrypted the office’s network.

I don’t know if it was the same scam I warned about.  But it was similar. And that’s how malware scammers work: they bait you into clicking.

Don’t Click.

I wonder if I should write a “Don’t Click” version of No Doubt’s Don’t Speak.

Leave a Reply

