Five for Friday: July 4th Edition

I hope you’re on a deck having coffee to start a fantastic long weekend.  Alas, a man can hope.

Let’s bend the rules this week.  Usually, there are no rules.  The reason: I WANT you looking at the Rules of Professional Conduct and other sources of guidance on professional responsibility.  This week, let’s play it straight.

Please forward the quiz to friends and colleagues. Email answers to michael.kennedy@vermont.gov

Question 1

The Second Continental Congress appointed the “Committee of Five” to draft the document that would become the Declaration of Independence.  Four lawyers were on the Committee.  Name the Committee’s only non-lawyer.

Question 2

Speaking of the Committee of Five, two of its lawyer-members died within hours of each other on July 4, 1826.  For one point each, name them.

Question 3

 

The Freedom of Information Act was signed into law on July 4th.  Name the president who, apparently, did not take the day off.

Question 4

Born on July 4, 1872, this Vermonter read for the law in Massachusetts in order to avoid the expense of law school.  He was admitted to the bar in 1897, working as a country lawyer. He went on to much bigger things.

Name him.

Question 5

Movie quote:  “Oh my god! Oh my God! I gotta call my brother. I better call my housekeeper. I gotta call my lawyer…..nah, forget my lawyer.”

Name the movie.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

